1978 99 Turbo Driving and Ownership Impressions

Post off topic or stuff that otherwise dosen't fit into a specific category here.
TurboBudapest
Nickname: Ed
Number of Saabs currently owned: 3

1978 99 Turbo Driving and Ownership Impressions

Postby TurboBudapest » Sun May 18, 2014 1:22 am

Hello Everyone,

I made my introductions here a few weeks ago: viewtopic.php?f=12&t=3771

I have a1978 99 Turbo which had almost been completely restored by the former owner, and I got it on the road in mid-March after having finished of the few remaining tasks.

I have been driving the 99 Turbo almost every weekend for the last two months since it was completed and am having a complete blast - see attached pic.

There is something incredibly visceral about driving the 99 Turbo. I read an Internet poster's comment that each subsequent Saab became more refined, but with the refinement, some of the communication and emotion was lost - I feel this is a very appropriate statement.

Somehow the 99 Turbo is like a young girl that wants to party, where as the 900 and 9000 are more akin to upwardly mobile executives.

1. Comfort

I can't believe how comfortable this car is. The seats are great, the driving position is very comfortable, and you generally get the feeling that the car was designed for solidly built larger framed Scandinavians (I am not a small guy). Slipping into this car feels like putting on an old pair of jeans - I love it.

The sunroof is a thing of wonder - probably the best manual sun roof design ever. Take about two seconds to open with minimal effort. I would take Saab's manual sunroof over the electric design any time. It is details like this that make me love Saab....

2. Highway Cruising