Thoughts on 944 intercooler?

A place for long term threads surrounding a specific project or SAAB build for motorsports or restoration
Chouan
Number of Saabs currently owned: 2

Thoughts on 944 intercooler?

Postby Chouan » Fri Feb 06, 2015 12:21 pm

I have my eye on using Porsche 944 intercooler on my 99 hot rod. I've made a mock up and I think it will work well right behind the 99 turbo air dam.

Thoughts on this unit?
My concern is that it will cause lag, but I'm no expert.

The inlet/outlet diameters are 2 3/8".
My turbo is a gt28rs.
Attachments
image.jpg

Geoff
Team Turbo Troll Crew
Nickname: Geoff
Number of Saabs currently owned: 6

Re: Thoughts on 944 intercooler?

Postby Geoff » Fri Feb 06, 2015 3:11 pm

I don't know anything about 944 intercoolers but I always thought one of these would be cool in an 99 engine bay

Pretty cheap but I don't know about quality
https://www.frozenboost.com/air_water-ic/?osCsid=5edd1470a7888d9e159c83dd53f23fe3
The kind of dirty that doesn't wash off :eyebrows:

Jordan
Site Admin

Postby Jordan » Fri Feb 06, 2015 4:15 pm

I have an account now with these guys. They have lots of good quality universal stuff, so if you need something let me know and I'll add it to the next order

http://www.do88.se/en/artiklar/engine-_ ... index.html I can get you exact pricing, but for the most part it is the same as the price on their site without paying shipping.

DrewP
Nickname: TANK
Number of Saabs currently owned: 1

Postby DrewP » Fri Feb 06, 2015 5:22 pm

Some of that do88 stuff is pretty cool. Do you know how long those orders take to come in?
"You can educate ignorance, but you can't fix stupid."

Chouan

Postby Chouan » Fri Feb 06, 2015 7:47 pm

Anyone know of a reason not to use the 944 unit? It would package very well.

I was digging around the web and forums this article with an evaluation of various stock intercoolers.

http://www.merkurtech.com/merkurtech/ma ... primer.php
Attachments
image.jpg