AN fittings and hose How to.

THE place for technical discussions concering the construction and preparation of SAABs for all forms of motorsport, Rally, Road Racing, Auto-X etc....
allessence
Nickname: allessence
Number of Saabs currently owned: 6

AN fittings and hose How to.

Postby allessence » Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:47 am

I have no experience with AN fittings and hoses. Everytime I look at updating/changing hoses I get so confused. And it doesn't help that SAAB used fittings (no idea) that seem esoteric to me.

So, does anyone have a basic approach? Any do's/don'ts. Any trade secrets to make things easier?

Also, does anyone have a list of the standard fittings for SAAB connections and tubes? Like what kind of fittings are on the oil coolers 86-up? I am very limited on information on these things and find it terribly confusing looking for other than stock parts.

Thanks Jennifer
Okay, so I'm female and like SAAB's go figure. Mind you, I like a good set of strappy sandal's just about as much though they don't take you thru the corners as fast. LOL

Rosie: http://www.saabcentral.com/forums/showt ... =Jennifers

xassh
Number of Saabs currently owned: 0

Postby xassh » Sun Nov 11, 2007 12:19 am

with my experience with AN fittings, the first thing i should say is this - DO NOT overtighten. i dumped a couple of quarts of oil out of my new T3/T4 turbo after installing that, a performance head and a bunch of other bits. AN fittings (atleast the ones i bought) are aluminum and are easily stripped/overtightened, especially when you are used to cranking down on the steel nuts, bolts, fittings used in stock locations.

which hoses are you looking at replacing?

allessence

Postby allessence » Sun Nov 11, 2007 4:51 pm

Just about any and all hoses which carry fluids. Brake, fuel, oil cooler, trans oil cooler/filter, etc.

Are the AN- wrenches really that handy?

Are the AN- products from one company not compatible with another company?